Assigned tasks can be made private. Only assigned participants or team members can see the name and description of a private task.
To make a task private, toggle the option to Hide name & description from others:

Note: If the task assignment is Anyone (default), you won't see this option. Only assigned tasks can be made private.
Remember to click Save changes when you're done.
How this works in the plan
The plan below has 2 identical tasks assigned to a team member. This is a participant's view. The first task is not private but the second one is. You'll see that on the private task (the second one), the task name is non-specific and the description is hidden.

When the participant clicks into a task, they'll see a message to say that they can't complete the task. They can still comment on the task if they want to.
If the task is private, the name and description is also hidden when they view the task, like this:
