Assigning tasks

To help you to create plans that work across different people (both on the participants side and different members of your team), you can assign tasks.

Assign tasks if something needs to be done strictly by the participant, or by the team. Or use roles to help you to define exactly who needs to complete each task, and then easily assign them to all their tasks when the plan starts.

Changing the assignment

You can assign tasks when creating them, or later through task settings.

To assign a task later, first find the task you want to make changes to, click the manage button (three dots) to the right of it, and then click Task settings.

Select who should complete the task:

  • Anyone (default): The task is intended to be completed by the person you send the plan to. The owner participant or any invited participants can complete it. But team members can also complete these tasks on behalf of participants where needed.
  • Any participant: Similar to Anyone (default), except these tasks can only be completed by participants. Team members can't complete these tasks on their behalf.
  • Owner participant: The task can only be completed by the owner participant. This assignment type is useful for tasks such as signing agreements or verifying ID, where you need certainty that the owner participant is the person completing it.
  • Participant role: Only the participant holding the linked custom role can complete the task. When you select this assignment type you'll be able to type in the role you want to link to the task. See Assigning custom roles below.
  • Any team member: The task can only be completed by a team member.
  • Owner team member: The task can only be completed by the owner team member. Useful if you have a compliance/checkpoint type task or a task related to managing people on the plan, where the plan owner has the authority and access level to complete it.
  • Team role: Only the team member holding the linked custom role can complete the task. When you select this assignment type you'll be able to type in the role you want to link to the task. See Assigning custom roles below.

Remember to click Save changes when you're done.

Note: Tasks details are still visible to everyone (all participants and users), unless you make them private. i.e. If you choose for a task to be completed by a team member without making it private, only a team member can complete it but participants can still view the name and description.

Assigning custom roles

You can create tasks assigned to participant or team user 'roles'. A role is simply a placeholder so that you can define which person needs to complete a task before you add participants and users into a plan.

How custom roles work

  1. Choose Participant role or Team role as the assignment type when adding a new task or in task settings. You'll see a new role option appear where you can define the role.
  2. Type the role you want to assign the task to, for example 'Sales', 'Legal', or 'Admin'. Only use letters, numbers, or spaces. Everyone on the plan will see the role.
  3. Now send the plan. If there are roles to be assigned, you'll see alerts on the plan page and the status will be set to Assign Roles. When you add participants and team members, you'll be able to select the role you want them assigned to. As you assign people to roles, the tasks will automatically assign to the correct people.
  4. Once a plan has all the roles assigned, the status will return to Sent and it's ready to be started.

Note: You can also assign team members to roles by adding them to the template (before sending a plan). This way, your team tasks will be assigned to the correct people immediately. If there are still team roles unassigned after sending you plan you can then assign any remaining roles on the plan.

Assign Roles plan status

When you create a plan and there are open/unassigned roles, your plan status will automatically be set to Assign Roles.

This makes it easier to find plans that need action in the plans list. You can filter on the status to view a list of all plans with this status.

As long as the plan status is still Assign Roles, it will revert back to Sent once all roles are filled.

From deal to done, in minutes

Onthen centralizes your onboarding process into one branded, frictionless task page. No more email chains, no more chasing up.

Your branding
Syncs with HubSpot
Chases up for you